Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton

COTCBook: Cream of the Crop

Series: Hudson Valley #2

Author: Alice Clayton

Main characters: Natalie Grayson, force of nature and Marketing whizz. Oscar Mendoza, surly cheesemonger and the object of Natalie’s affections.

Plot: Natalie Grayson is at the top of her game. She’s awesome in life and in her career. She’s pretty good in her love life too. Her rule is simple – if she sees someone she wants to hook up with, she goes for it – and they’re more than grateful when she does. Her confidence seems to desert her however, when she interacts with a certain cheesemonger and owner of the Bailey Falls Creamery.

Every Saturday at Natalie’s local farmers’ market he doesn’t seem to register her existence. Determined to have him but unsure of how, when she can’t say more than two words to him, Natalie can’t stop thinking about him.

Oscar is a man of few words. He loves his job, knows his product is the best in town, and therefore doesn’t feel the need to be friendly or outgoing. As much as he likes to keep himself to himself, he would have to be dead not to notice the statuesque woman who frequents the market every week. Perhaps he could make one exception to the rule…

Why you should read it: Oh my – this book! It’s so sensual – the descriptions of food, the area of Bailey Falls, the sheer amount of lust between Natalie and Oscar – it’s all palpable! It was seriously hot and seriously fun. I enjoyed it immensely. I really liked Natalie – she wasn’t the archetypal large gal who has to be a jolly clown – she was real, had great self-esteem and owned her world and her body. I loved her. Oscar was a grouch, like his namesake, but he really developed throughout the book and seeing the world through his eyes was pretty refreshing.

What you may not like: if you’re a fan of Alice Clayton, you’ll enjoy her sense of humour and her ability to be lighthearted one moment and full of pathos at another moment. There really wasn’t much to dislike. For real.

Rating: 4/5 for a truly enjoyable story. At the time of writing, the rest of the series – Nuts and Buns are currently on sale. Needless to say I now have the complete series and can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.